Cinderford produced a simply stunning fightback to turnaround a 31-0 deficit and emerge victorious on their first ever visit to Caldy.

In a game of hugely contrasting halves it was the home side who had the advantage of a strong wind behind them for the opening 40 minutes and they soon set about taking full advantage of the favourable conditions.  Nyle Davidson scored the opening try of the match, before the prolific Nick Royle went over for his first score, with Ben Jones adding the conversion.  Home winger Luke Hibberd was next to score when he followed up his kick ahead and won the chase to touchdown, before Jones secured his team’s bonus point with a fourth try, which he also converted to make it 26-0 after just twenty minutes of play.

Cinderford defended well for much of the remainder of the half, but Royle put Caldy seemingly out of sight when he showed good skills to score his second try.  However, just before the interval Cinderford scored what was to prove to be a pivotal try, when Alex Frame and Liam Hemming combined to put winger Sam Smith through to score.

The visitors came out firing in the second half with captain George Porter soon reducing the arrears and Hemming adding the conversion.  When replacement hooker Nathan Taylor finished off a tremendous passage of play Cinderford were starting to believe that they had a chance of an amazing comeback. Next to score was replacement prop Tom Heard who forced his way over after a series of pick up and goes close to the home line, with Hemming again adding the extras.

A fine break from Ewan Fenley saw Harry Hone up in support and he crashed over under the posts, with the conversion putting Cinderford ahead. Then George Boulton scored what proved to be the winning try with ten minutes remaining.  Caldy pressed hard in the closing stages but the Forest team defended their line heroically and were not to be denied an outstanding victory.

Cinderford; Stef Hawley, Sam Smith, Ed Bogue, George Boulton, Reuben Norville, Liam Hemming, Alex Frame, George Porter (Capt.), Tom Bozzard, Tim Brockett, Jack Shields, Ben Chan, Matt Bennett, Aaron Ryan, Harry Hone.

Replacements; Tom Heard, Nathan Taylor, Will Keenan, Terence Babarinsa, Ewan Fenley.