Cinderford recovered from a 22-5 deficit early in the second-half to defeat Chinnor in a thrilling National One encounter at Kingsey Road.

The visitors had slightly the better of the opening exchanges but it was Chinnor who opened the scoring when full-back Craig Holland swept over for a well taken try, which was converted by Ben Palmer.  Cinderford were quick to respond when an attempted clearance was charged down and from the ensuing 5m scrum No8 Harry Hone forced his way over for an unconverted try.  Chinnor were in control for much of the remainder of the first-half and they increased their advantage when they created an overlap to enable winger Josh Hodson to score in the corner.  As half-time approached Hodson raced over for his second try from another well executed set-piece move which Palmer converted to make it 19-5 at the interval.

The second-half began with Palmer stretching his team’s lead with a penalty, but this was to prove the spur for Cinderford to launch their comeback.  First of all a series of pick and goes from the forwards eventually led to George Evans forcing his way over for a try which Alex Frame converted. Then the referee awarded them a penalty try when the home side infringed under pressure at a 5m scrum.  The momentum of the game was now with Cinderford and they took the lead on the hour when winger Reuben Norville scored a fine individual try as he chipped the full-back re-gathered and raced over under the posts, with Frame adding the extras.

Back came the home side however and they re-took the lead when the ball was re-cycled through numerous phases before No8 Tom Burns crashed over.  Straight from the re-start Cinderford were awarded a penalty and Frame made no mistake with his kick at goal. Chinnor threw everything into attack in the closing stages and there was late drama when they were awarded a penalty, but Palmer’s attempt at goal drifted wide.

Cinderford; Alex Frame, Sam Smith, Jack Hayes, Ed Bogue, Reuben Norville, George Boulton, Ewan Fenley Joe Smart (Capt.), Nathan Taylor, Tim Brockett, George Evans, Dale Lemon, Aaron Ryan, Dan Broady, Harry Hone.

Replacements; James Elliot, Tom Bozzard, Matthew Bennett, Tom Darby, Toby Dabell.