There was no New Year’s cheer for Cinderford as they remained in the National One relegation zone, with Darlington Mowden Park emerging well deserved winners.

The home side struggled to get out of their own half in the opening quarter and it came as no surprise when the visitors opened the scoring following a lineout catch and drive from his forwards, scrum-half Adam Nixon dived over to score a try which Grant Connon converted.

Cinderford briefly threatened their opponents try line and outside-half Mark Davies was on target with a penalty in the 28th minute.
Back came Mowden Park though, and as half-time approached a long spell of pressure eventually led to full-back Henry Robinson breaking through for a well taken try, with Connon again converting.

The second-half developed into a battle of attrition between the forwards, with the visitors always appearing to have the edge. Connon landed a penalty after 53 minutes, and that proved to be the half’s only score as the visitors comfortably dealt with Cinderford’s best efforts.

MOTM – Henry Robinson, DMP

Cinderford : Mike Wilcox, Nev Codlin, Sam Hanks, Jack Adams, Sam Baker, Mark Davies (Stef Hawley 46), Alex Frame (Clive Stuart-Smith 50), Chris Bundy, Luke Cole (Sam Wilkes 69), Elliot Booley (Jake Caulfield 56), Roger Birkin, Milo Reynolds, Dan Fry (Ed King 56), Marcus Brown, Mike Uren