Cinderford United ended Dudley Kingswinford’s unbeaten season so far in comprehensive fashion, as they visited Dudley on Saturday 13th October.  Playing up a slight slope in the first half and against a stiff breeze the United sought to keep the ball in hand at all times.

From the outset the United had the upper hand in the scrummage and this brought a confidence to the side that remained throughout the 80 minutes. The first two tries were similarly executed with full back Danny Trigg and right wing Josh Hannam combining to exploit the left hand side of Dudley’s defence. Firstly Trigg received a scoring pass from Hannam and then returned the compliment for Hannam to score the United’s second. Trigg converted both. The United management used their squad to full effect with constant use of roll on, roll off substitutions. This could have affected the side’s continuity but the squad’s attitude was exemplary and they continued to pound the home side’s defence. Captain, and centre, Kai Done led from the front and scored the side’s third try. Again Trigg converted. Dudley finally scored, just before half time, with a penalty goal.

The second half was played in much the same vein. Jack O’Connell, now at scrum half forced an error at the base of Dudley’s scrummage and scored the fourth try from five metres out. The conversion was the only kick missed by Trigg. The fact that the United only scored one more try will remain a mystery. A mix of handling errors (forced and unforced), wet conditions, bizarre refereeing decisions and staunch Dudley defence thwarted the United efforts. The fifth and final try came from a fine individual run by prop Leigh Green, a just reward for Green’s hugely industrious performance. Trigg converted to cap a hugely satisfactory United performance.

Cinderford United; Danny Trigg, Josh Hannam. Kai Done (captain), Dewi Scourfield, Jack O’Connell, Jack Wakefield, Alex Frame, Leigh Green, Chris Bundy, Seb Merritt, Dave McKee, Ben Sparks, Louis Overthrow, Nico Woodward, Jake Kitson. Replacements (all used); Neil Bunce, Kyle Frowen,PeteTowers, Nicky Gait, Danny Chappell