Cinderford On the Road North to Wharfedale
Saturday 14th March KO 3:00pm (National 1)

With all eyes on what promises to be a high pressure game indeed, the Foresters are on the far road north after last week’s home disappointment to play Wharfedale, and in a determined spirit that showed itself in the first half of last week. Cinderford must win this game to be in reach of securing league safety.

“Whilst this game is absolutely vital for us, our focus is to continue building our brand of rugby and deliver a sustained performance this weekend and for the remaining games. We have shown we are strongly competitive and if we remain clinical and ruthless we can be successful. The results will be ours if we all understand the process and play as we know we can,” said Nic Corrigan, director of professional rugby & coaching.

Having had a strong week on the training ground, with indepth analysis of the Blaydon fixture, the Foresters are confident, strong as a unit and relish the challenge of targetting the away win, to help stave off relegation.

Changes to the team see Chris Bundy return to start in the front row and Luke Cole come in to start as hooker on rotation with Sam Wilkes. Danny Pointon starts at scrum half on rotation with Clive Stuart-Smith who moves to the bench. Leo Fielding moves to the wing as Robbie Winchle returns to start at centre, having regained full match fitness after injury and gaining game time for the United. New face Bristol DR Callum Sheedy played around 15 minutes last week and is on the bench also.

Other Club rugby this weekend see Cinderford United at home welcoming Ampthill 2nds KO 2.30pm – please come along and support. The Bucks are away to Dursley 3rds also at 2.30pm. Good luck to all teams.

Cinderford v Wharfedale (A)

15. Mike Wilcox (capt)
14. Leo Fielding
13. Sam Hanks
12. Robbie Winchle
11. Stef Hawley
10. James Moffat
9. Danny Pointon
1. Chris Bundy
2. Luke Cole
3. Elliot Booley
4. Roger Birkin
5. Ed King
6. George Mills
7. Marcus Brown
8. George Evans

16. Jake Caulfield
17. Sam Wilkes
18. Milo Reynolds
19. Callum Sheedy
20. Clive Stuart-Smith