A ‘hat-trick’ of tries from Birmingham Moseley flanker Morgan Dawes helped his team to a deserved victory over previously unbeaten Cinderford at the Beavis Memorial ground.

It was the home team who made the better start to the match and they went close to scoring on a couple of occasions before from a lineout catch and drive hooker Nathan Taylor broke clear through to open the scoring with an unconverted try after seven minutes.  Moseley responded well and some strong forward play brought them a penalty award which was successfully kicked by outside-half Ben Palmer. A clearance kick was then fielded by home full-back Ed Sheldon who set off on a terrific run from well inside his own half which saw him elude several defenders to race clear through under the posts for a try which Stefan Hawley converted. Back came the visitors and when Cinderford gifted them possession at a lineout Dawes forced his way over for his first try, which Palmer converted.  A series of pick and goes from their forwards then saw the visitors take the ball up to the home line and once again it was Dawes who went over, with Palmer adding the extras.  Palmer then kicked a penalty right on the stroke of half-time to give his team a 20-12 lead at the interval.

Cinderford reduced the arrears after 55 minutes when Hawley kicked a penalty, but it was the visitors who continued to show far better ball retention skills than their opponents and they scored what was to prove a decisive try when Palmer broke through in mid-field and Dawes was once again on hand to take the pass and complete his ‘hat-trick’, which Palmer converted.  Play became increasingly frantic in the closing stages and the home side got themselves back into the contest when some quick hands realised Sheldon who raced away to score his second try.  But Moseley were not to be denied and they ran down the clock very effectively to secure their victory.

Cinderford; Ed Sheldon, Sam Smith, Terence Babarinsa, Jack Hayes, Ed Bogue, Stef Hawley, Jimmy Williams, George Porter (Capt.), Nathan Taylor, James Elliot, Tyler Jerrum, Dale Lemon, Matthew Gilbert, Matt Lane, George Evans. Replacements; Joe Smart, Tim Brockett, Joe Mullis, James Butler, Alex Frame.