League leaders Cinderford extended their winning run to 20 games, with a strong second-half performance taking them past a gallant but ultimately outgunned Wimbledon side.

The first-time visitors began the match strongly and earned themselves a penalty, which was successfully kicked by outside-half James Doe to open the scoring.  Cinderford responded well and some slick handling saw centre Rob Winchle breakthrough in mid-field with his offload putting Liam Hemming over for a try under the posts, which James Moffat converted.  Doe missed a straightforward looking penalty for the visitors, before the home worked their way back upfield and from a lineout 15m out they set up a catch and drive which saw Matt Bennett break off and score his side’s second try, which Moffat converted.

Back came the Dons however, and they put together a good passage of play which eventually led to a try for second-row Andy Hore, which went unconverted, but despite both sides going close the score remained 14-8 at the interval.

The second-half began in perfect fashion for the home side, when a strong run by flanker Matt Lane saw him find Alex Frame up in close support and he raced over for a try, which Moffat again converted.  Home No8 Harry Hone was next to score and secure the bonus point when he finished off another well executed lineout catch and drive, with Moffat adding the extras.

Cinderford were now well on top and when they moved the ball wide winger Kai Little beat his opposite number and put centre Ed Bougue away to score a fifth try.  Pressure on the visitors scrummage then resulted in a second try for Hone after 63 minutes of play, which Moffat converted. Then in the closing stages Lane capped another fine individual performance by scoring his side’s seventh try after a terrific run by winger Reuben Norville.

Cinderford; James Moffat, Kai Little, Ed Bogue, Rob Winchle, Reuben Norville, Liam Hemming, Alex Frame, Joe Smart (Capt.), Nathan Taylor, James Elliot, Callum Allen, Jack Shields, Matt Lane, Matt Bennett, Harry Hone.

Replacements; George Porter, Tim Brockett, Dale Lemon, Roger Birkin, Terence Babarinsa.