Cinderford made it six wins in a row with a narrow victory they just about deserved overcoming a strong challenge from Henley Hawks.

In near perfect conditions at Dry Leas the first-half saw the most of the action take place in the Cinderford half but despite their territorial advantage the Hawks rarely looked capable of breaking down their opponents strong defensive line.  The only scoring before the interval saw James Moffat land two penalties for the visitors and George Jackson kicking a solitary reply for the hosts.

The second half saw an early yellow card for Hawks centre Xavier Andre, but Moffat was off target with the ensuing penalty.  Henley took the lead after 55 minutes of play, when they scored the opening try of the match through Rob Bell, which Jackson converted.

The match really came to life in final ten minutes when Cinderford regained the lead with a well executed lineout catch and drive enabling replacement hooker Jack Williams to score a try, which Moffat converted.  Back came Henley though and some fine play from winger Connor Hayhow put Joe Butler over for a well taken try, which Jackson converted to put his side back in front at 17-13.

The visitors had to show their strength of character in the closing stages and they did as they kicked a penalty into the corner to set up another lineout catch and drive and although they were held up just short of the line the ball was moved quickly to the blindside for winger Sam Goatley to score a try which was excellently converted from the touchline by Eamonn Rees.  There was still time for one last play however and when Henley were awarded a penalty Jackson had the chance to level the scores, but his attempt at goal just drifted wide and brought the final whistle.

Cinderford: James Moffat, Sam Goatley, Reuben Norville, Rob Winchle, Harrison Yorke, Liam Hemming, Jimmy Williams, George Porter (Capt.), Joe Smart, James Tideswell, Jack Shields, Ed King, Aaron Ryan, Will Keenan, George Evans.

Replacements: Jack Williams, Marcus Brown, Adam Balding, Dale Lemon, Eamonn Rees.