Cinderford produced a simply stunning performance in a 14-try demolition of Henley Hawks.

In glorious sunshine it was the home side who applied some early pressure, but they were unable to breakthrough a solid Cinderford defence and the visitors moved steadily upfield to set up an attacking lineout, which led to their opening try from hooker Nathan Taylor.  Some excellent handling created the next score for winger Kai Little, which James Moffat converted, before a fine run from Little led to a third try from Matt Lane, again converted by Moffat.

Henley opened their account with a Connor Murphy penalty, but Cinderford secured their bonus point soon afterwards, when No8 Harry Hone forced his way over, then just before half-time some more great defence from the visitors saw the ball go loose and a kick ahead and chase saw Little score his second try, again converted by Moffat to make it 33-3 at the interval.

If Cinderford’s first-half performance was impressive in the second-half it was exceptional with nine further tries being scored through a mixture individual skill and outstanding teamwork.
Liam Hemming raced over under the posts, before Reuben Norville outpaced the cover defence to score try number seven. Terence Babarinsa showed good strength to shrug off an attempted tackle and go over, then Hemming scored his second another outstanding effort. Moffat landed all four conversions.  Henley gained some brief respite when a quickly taken lineout resulted in a try for Harry Burn, which Murphy converted.

There was no stopping Cinderford though as the tries continued to flow, Moffat touched down, before Lane showed his pace to score twice, and complete his ‘hat-trick’, Norville crossed for his second, before Dan Broady also went over, with Moffat kicking two more conversions.  Tom Emery scored a late consolation try for the Hawks, which Murphy converted, but it did little to detract from a hugely impressive Cinderford display.

Cinderford; James Moffat, Kai Little, Terence Babarinsa, Jack Hayes, Reuben Norville, Liam Hemming, Jimmy Williams, George Porter (Capt.), Nathan Taylor, Tim Brockett, Jack Shields, Dale Lemon, Matt Lane, Aaron Ryan, Harry Hone.

Replacements; Joe Smart, James Elliot, Roger Birkin, Dan Broady, Alex Frame.