Cinderford determined to get back on winning trail against Old Albanians
Saturday 23 March — KO 2.130pm (SSE National 1)

After what seems a long gap in play Cinderford (@cinderfordrfc) welcomes Old Albanian (@OARugby) to the Beavis Memorial Ground for this National 1 fixture. Newcomers to our league and fairing rather well in 6th position, OA love to play a fluid game of rugby with a lot of momentum, taking advantage of poor kicking and turn overs from the opposition. So with this in mind Cinderford has been training hard for what will be a tough game.

Said Andy Deacon, director of rugby: “The last time we were home against Esher RFC we played so well, despite the defeat, with a level of rugby worthy of the Championship, but our downfall was errors. This was also evident at our last game away to Wharfedale. It highlighted inconsistency which has plagued us, in a season that has also seen us play winning, nail biting rugby that has challenged the toughest of opponents. Our focus has been back to basics; a good platform, a rhythm to the game and a game played at pace for the full 80. If we do this on Saturday we can deliver a home win in front of home advantage supporting crowd.”

“Currently at 11th, we have a points target we set ourselves which is totally achievable in the matches that we have left and especially with most of them being at home. If we can achieve this goal then we will continue our progressive year-on-year improvement in league finishes – and I have every confidence that we can make this happen.”

Team changes see Chris Bundy come in for Joe Smart who goes to the bench and Ed King start with Dale Critchley as the replacement. Luke Allen is absent due to a one match suspension after pleading guilty to totting up 3 yellow cards for foul play this season. Kai Done starts at 12 and Dewi Scourfield sits on the bench and George Evans starts at 8 with Jake Kitson coming into the side after impressing with United.

Cinderford RFC v Old Albanians 

15. Mike Wilcox
14. Nev Codlin
13. Jack Adams
12. Kai Done
11. Lloyd Stapleton
10. Mark Davies
9. Danny Pointon

1. Chris Bundy
2. Tom Bozzard
3. Nick Selway
4. Ben West
5. Ed King
6. Will Foden
7. Rob Langley
8. George Evans

16. Stuart Bailey
17. Joe Smart
18. Jake Kitson
19. Dale Critchley
20. Dewi Scourfield