Cinderford determined to deliver a win at Richmond
Sat 26 January (KO 3.00pm) National 1

As the snow finally melts, this Saturday Cinderford travels away to Richmond RFC for a must win game after a week’s break. Upbeat and confident to be back on the pitch and playing high-class rugby, the squad is in good spirits having continued their rigorous training programme on all weather pitches and sports halls during the arctic weather spell.

Following a disappointing performance against Macclesfield a couple of weeks ago, the Foresters are determined to put in a sustained performance from the off when they take on Richmond, who sit just one point ahead in the tough league. It promises to be a close-fought battle between the opponents.

Said director of rugby Andy Deacon: “There are just a few changes this week that sees prop Tom Heard go back to Gloucester Rugby for their LV= Cup game, allowing Nick Selway to retain his position at tighthead. Stuart Bailey starts as hooker while top try scorer Tom Bozzard moves to the bench. Joe Smart rotates with James Brooks.”

“Kai Done starts at inside centre with Dewi Scourfield on the bench, and Ben Sparks makes his first full start of the season at blind side flanker, with Joe Garner moving to the bench.”

“Our aim is to play our strong brand of rugby and get back to winning ways by playing with concentration and confidence for the whole 80 minutes. We need to get the win and four points,” Deacon added.

Cinderford United is playing a curtain raiser game against Richmond Vikings at 1pm ahead of the league fixture; a most welcome match for the strong United side who are chomping at the bit for game time.

Last week’s postponed National 1 game home to Tynedale has been re-arranged for February 9th.

Cinderford RFC v Richmond

15. Mike Wilcox
14. Nev Codlin
13. Jack Adams
12. Kai Done
11. Lloyd Stapleton
10. Mark Davies
9. Danny Pointon

1. Joe Smart
2. Stuart Bailey
3. Nick Selway
4. Ben West
5. Ed King
6. Ben Sparks
7. Will Foden (Captain)
8. George Evans

16. James Brooks
17. Tom Bozzard
18. Joe Garner
19. Dewi Scourfield
20. Stef Hawley