County Cup match (Played at Widden on 11th January 2015)

This was Cinderford’s fourth and final game in the pool stage of this seasons County Cup due to Stow having dropped out. Cinderford having won their previous three games were already assured of a place in the knockout stages but wanted to maintain their 100% record.

On a cold and windy morning, Widden opened the score on 5 minutes with a penalty to take a 3-0 lead. Widden held the lead until the twelfth minute when following some sustained pressure, Jack Guy broke through the Widden defence to score a fine try under the posts which he converted to give Cinderford a 7-3 lead.

Cinderford then dominated the game and in the 17th minute, Toby Powell scored another fine try and this was converted by Jack Guy to extend the lead to 14-3.

Cinderford’s top try scorer Will Baldwin got on the score sheet in the 24th minute with a fine try following some superb play by the forwards.

In the 27th minute, Ben Thompson broke through the Widden defence to run in a fine try from 40 yards under the post and Jack slotted the conversion to extend Cinderford’s lead to 26-3.

Widden to their credit never gave up and scored a try of their own on 35 minutes that made the score 26- 8.

On the stroke of half time, Will Baldwin scored his 2nd try and Jack Guy made the conversion to make the half time score 33-8 .

In the second half Cinderford continued to dominate and Ryan Kibble scored a fine try and minutes later, Will Baldwin completed his hat-trick of tries and Jack Guy made the conversion.

Ben Thompson scored a further try and Jack Guy made the conversion to make the final score 52-8

Cinderford will now go into the knockout stages of the County Cup full of confidence and having won the County Plate last season, lets hope that this season they can complete a memorable double.

Cinderford Squad:

Josh Haddock, Niall Rosser, Ethan Brooks, Cam Davis, Finlay Poultney, Jacob Smith, Ben Thompson, Morgan Peates, Jack Guy, Ryan Kibble, Jude Hunt, Josh Tull, Toby Powell, Louis Brennan, Ollie Moore, Will Baldwin, Mason Carr, Connor Gresty, Danny Troughton.